Bid Information & Awards

Engineering Division

Recycling Office

Roads Division

Transit Division

Utilities Division

Contact Us!

GOV Home




Roads Division



The Roads Division is responsible for the paving, plowing, and adjacent area vegetation control of 533 miles of county roads spread over 425+ square miles. The county has 312 miles of tar and chip roads, 126 miles of gravel roads, and 95 miles of black top roads. Road maintenance is performed by personnel based in four strategically located garages: Central/Cumberland Western/Frostburg North East/Little Orleans, and South East/Oldtown.


Mission Statement

The Department of Public Works – Roads Division is to utilize its resources, training, and experience to provide and maintain a high level of service to the residents of Allegany County and other county agencies. The division shall strive to meet public’s needs in a timely and courteous manner while maintaining the highest degree of workmanship, professionalism, and ethics. Implicit in the mission of the division is the necessity to keep the equipment, software, and employee training current, establish and maintain standard guidelines, maintain and reinvest in our infrastructure, and adhere to the policies and procedures of Allegany County. The goals of the division shall be a guide to the employee who will work to attain and maintain these goals, while realizing the need for cooperation, good communication, and proper attitude taking into consideration the fiscal restraints and budgetary limitations.

Contact Us!


Telephone: 301-777-5955


Fax: 301-777-1439 

General Email

Office Address
Allegany County Office Complex
701 Kelly Road
Cumberland, MD  21502-2803
Driving Directions

Administrative Office Hours
Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Road Crew Hours
Memorial Day - Labor Day: Monday -Thursday, 6:00 am - 4:00 pm
Rest of Year:  Monday - Friday, 7:00 am - 3:00 pm
Garage 1/Cumberland Central District: 301-777-5955
Territory includes Cresaptown, Cumberland, LaVale 

Garage 2/ Flintstone North East District: 301-478-2800
Territory begins at Street Road                                                                    

Garage 3/Oldtown South East District:
Territory begins at Mexico Farms Road                                                                            

Garage 4/Frostburg Western District: 301-463-3106
Territory includes Eckhart, Frostburg, George’s Creek, Mount Savage                                                                  

Roads Superintendent
Paul F. Goldsworthy 
Administrative Staff
Shelley L. Loibel 
District Supervisor - Garage 1 - Cumberland Central District
Patrick C. Helmstetter 
District Supervisor - Garage 2 - Flintstone North East District
Guy E. Stonestreet 
District Supervisor - Garage 3 - Oldtown South East District
Kenneth W. Martz
District Supervisor - Garage 4- Frostburg Western District
Todd L. Wilt 
Bridge & Traffic Maintenance Supervisor
M. Scott Sweitzer 
Equipment & Maintenance Foreman
David L. Teter 
Parts Manager
Richard J. Blahut
Roads Foremen
J. Andrew Lyberger
John J. McMillan

Allegany County Government, All rights reserved